Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

After I bought that ginger syrup a few weeks back I decided I could so easily make my own! I went nuts and made three different kinds. It is so easy to do this and is so much more fun! You can use it to make cocktails, a soda, or maybe add on top of ice cream.

I made three different kinds of syrup: ginger, strawberry lemon, and rhubarb! First thing was I found the bottle I wanted to use. You can use jars if you like. I got these at the container store. What I really wanted was the amber bottles, but that will have to wait until next time!

For the ginger, I bought three packages of the prepackaged ginger from Trader Joe’s. So, that was 6 small pieces of ginger total.

 Chop it up! I cut mine in big chunks and then threw it in the food processor.

Place the ginger in a saucepan with 2 cups of sugar and 4 cups of water. You can find other recipes online, but this is what I did.  Cook the sauce until it becomes slightly thick, or syrup consistency over med to low heat.  This will take about 30 minutes. Strain the ginger from the syrup. Using a small funnel, funnel the syrup into your bottle.

6 pieces of fresh ginger chopped

2 cups of sugar

4 cups of water

For the strawberry lemon syrup, it is the same process using different ingredients and a different measurement of sugar and water as I was using less fruit. I used a whole pack of strawberries and 3 lemons.

2 cups of fresh strawberries chopped

3 lemon peels cut into matchsticks

1 cup of sugar

2 cups of water

As well, as the rhubarb, using 2 stalks of rhubarb.

2 stalks of rhubarb

1 cup of sugar

2 cups of water

You can figure out your ratio of sugar and water depending on how much fruit you are using.   One recipe I have used before is Laura Calder’s for a lemon syrup. She uses 2 cups of sugar per 2 cups of water.

Refrigerate after the syrups have cooled. It should keep in fridge for two weeks or maybe a bit longer.

To make a pop just add syrup to ice and club soda. To have more fun add whiskey or vodka…and maybe an orange peel if you are feeling fancy.

I made cute little tags from really really thin wood. Great gifts and cute DIY!! Next, I want to try lemon/lime syrup!

Comments

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. September 21, 2011

    How is your garden owing? I’d love to see the growth progress!!!

    • September 22, 2011

      its good! the romaine is extremely tall right now. the tomatoes and a few pepper plants aren’t doing so well. we added compost to the soil, and i bought a compost tea that is made here in california that i am going to use today! we added mesclun, collard greens, carrots, shallots, and green beans. i am planning on adding a few more and than i will do a winter veggie post!! thanks for checking in!

  2. F. #
    September 21, 2011

    You make it look easy…!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS