Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

It’s true, I am a bit all over the place with the blog. One minute it is about clothes the next food, but I think I might just have to start accepting that is just who I am…a bit all over the place. I can only be in the moment when it comes to inspiration. It seems the longer an idea sits in my head the longer it takes me to do it. How do these blogging mom’s do it with their DSLR’s,kids, laundry,errands, meals and snacks, husbands, all while every moment appears just so damn cute. That seems to be the running theme with the internet these days…how can we make our lives appear extraordinarily cute and interesting? Between instagram, pinterest, blogging, tumblers, etsy shops, Facebook, flickr and then promoting all that on twitter… its enough to make a semi-sane, creative person go crazy.  I must be a horrible time manager as I never seem to get done what I need and want to get done. I think I spend more time making lists and staring at them than doing the things on them. I have also been struggling with the competition of photos on a blog. I certainly am much more attracted to a blog with beautiful photos, and somehow I find myself not attracted to mine.  It’s true I lack a good camera and good light in my kitchen. One day I hope I can compete with good lighting and the cuteness of the world!

 Yesterday, was the first step into getting back into my projects. I made my first pork tenderloin…a favorite growing up!  I think one of the things I love most about the fall is the food. Apples, pears, pumpkin, roasts, hearty soups.  After Halloween(thank god thats over) I got a burst of energy to try some new fall flavors. Now, I think the one thing I am learning about the blog is that I am not trying to teach you how to cook.  I think it is more of a challenge for myself to learn, to try and take some fun pictures (and get better at it), and also just inspire.  I hope it works.

Pork Tenderloin

marinade:

1 tbsp lemon zest

juice of one lemon

1 tbsp garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

rosemary, thyme, and sage chopped up (about 2 tbsp)

salt and pepper

Combine all the ingredients together and rub all over the loin.  I  only marinated for about 30 minutes, but you can place the pork in a plastic bag and marinate for 4 hour up to overnight. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Heat some olive oil in a oven safe pan(preferably with a lid) and sear the loin on both sides.   Put the lid on and place in the oven until the thickest part of the meat reaches a temperature of 137degrees. Mine was a bit higher  around 145degrees. Take out of oven and cover for 10 minutes with foil. Cut and serve.

Brussel sprouts:

super simple. I chopped the sprouts to do something different so it almost looked like shavings.  Saute 2 tbsp of shallot in some olive oil and butter. Add brussel sprouts and salt and pepper. Cook until ready!

Parsnips:

chop the parsnips how you desire into rounds or sticks. place a baking sheet or dish with garlic, olive oil, and salt and pepper. bake at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes!

Comments

6 Comments

Post a comment
  1. Jamie Jones #
    November 28, 2011

    Looove this blog Annie! I can totally relate to it, too!! And, love the Pork Tenderloin, Parsnips and Brussel Sprouts, MMMmmm! I don’t cook often since it’s just me, but every now and then I’ll get inspired. This is definitely inspiring, love the pics too.

    • November 29, 2011

      Thanks Jamie! I am glad you love it! It is often just me as well, I try to make things I can eat for leftovers and are super easy! Thanks for your feedback…means a lot!

  2. November 3, 2011

    Lovely photography. The colour tones are very stylish and appropriate to the subject. Nice,
    Conor

  3. Julie #
    November 3, 2011

    Will try. Especially like the brussels and parsnip. Yum.

  4. Patrice #
    November 3, 2011

    YUMOLA!!!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS