Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

It has been a strange year…and then I decided to spend Christmas in LA by myself. I figured I should do something somewhat festive and mustered up what holiday spirit I have and put together a mish-mosh tree…taped to the wall.  Never underestimate leftover decorations. And I so much enjoyed getting all those lovely Christmas cards in the mail this year! Forgive me, for I lack the focus to reciprocate the cards. In the past I always got up to the point where the names and sometimes address’ were printed on the card, but never actually put stamps on any of them. After countless failed attempts, I eventually just gave up.  One day!!

I feel like I am somewhere between the Grinch and Clark Griswald this year. Christmas traditions have changed so much in my family with all the new families and I think I am still figuring out what it means to me.   But as I sit here listening to my favorite Johnny Mathis Christmas album, perhaps somewhat torchering myself, I dream of all those Christmas mornings as a kid where I was spoiled rotten and Christmas lasted for hours as we each took turns opening up our gifts, taking breaks for cinnamon rolls and the bathroom, my dad would almost always guess what his gifts were, and just when you thought it was over the stockings were stuffed full of goodies too! I cherish those memories and moments with my family. I am lucky.

I look forward to the day when I can perhaps spoil my very own family. But this year, I will spoil myself intentionally with lots of food and lots of TV. I hope Scrooge is on cable this year!

Much love to my family and friends whom I love so much! I hope your holiday is full of love and joy, cherishing old memories and making new ones!

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. Julie #
    December 24, 2011

    Oh, we are waiting to spoil you when you come for a visit next week! We love you and miss you.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS