Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

i am off to colorado tonight to see two of my favorite people marry each other. laura and burke are such genuine and unique people. it makes my heart warm that i have such friends in my life.  i admire them, respect them, and draw inspiration from them.  i have known laura since high school when we worked at a restaurant in the  mall with two of my other greatest girlfriends, kate and sarah! some of my fondest memories come from those days, and what i love the most about these girls is that each one of us is an artist…in our own light.

laura is a brilliant artist and photographer. (check out her website!!!!) she never seizes to amaze me with her evolving talents and ability to push far outside the box, evoking a haunting and intimate portrayal of reality. it is about HER art, not what is expected. this has always been an inspiration for me. i, personally, have always fell somewhere in limbo with being different and being ordinary. i can never quite push far enough to be miles “outside the box” with enough confidence to hold it. criticism can hold one back.  laura never allows this.

the picture above i took years ago at one of her houses in alabama. i will never forget that trip . a house filled with so many curiosities, art, and a bit like the feeling you get when watching an episode of twin peaks. i love this shit. i lived in alabama for three years in high school, but this trip somehow resonated this different side of the south for me.  the brutal history, the ghostly stories that swarm alabama, that cultural divide between the north and the south, and that gothic feeling i still can’t get out of my head years after this trip. all through laura’s eyes and inspiration.

i actually have the last one hanging on my fridge.

i am also leaving you with a trailer for a film my friend, jeremy, directed.  i met jeremy years ago on a film in arizona. he lives in new york with his wife and together they own brooklyn yoga school.  i am so proud and happy for him for his incredible film. i use to do a lot of kundalini yoga( hatha and bikram as well) and this totally inspired me this morning to find that peace and do some yoga. man, i really need to do some yoga. perhaps some time in the hot springs this weekend will evoke some more of this craving! i am feeling ultra inspired this morning and looking forward to seeing my old friends!

really, i just wanted to show off how talented my friends are!!! 🙂

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. May 17, 2012

    You have extremely talented friends! It is great to have creative people in your life, I am also lucky in that way, even though they have totally different skills from me, my friends often show me how to look at things in different ways which would never have occurred to me before. Have a lovely time at the wedding, congrats to them!

  2. May 17, 2012

    You are a great friend as well basking in your friends’ glory – not many people are like that. Wishing a lot of success to all of them:)

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS