Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

IMG_2407

is it narcissistic to do a curiosity space on my own house? perhaps, but i do find my own house curious. i find it curious how quickly it can become a mess, how fast dishes pile up, how cleaning is so hard for me to start to do. maybe thats why i moved away, so i didn’t have to clean for guests, because i rarely have any. just kidding. i did however think how, really, i am kind of creating my own art residency. i don’t consider myself an “artist”, but maybe one day i would like to. really, i just want to work on the things that make me happy. i felt distracted in LA, and besides my kitty being terribly sick the past week, the distractions are on a much smaller scale here. i have a work room where i can actually set everything out, leave it out to come back to, and just somewhere that feels like i am doing something right.  i think besides my work room, the living room is my favorite. i love the fireplace, although from time to time i feel ultra guilty using so much gas. i love the saddle blanket i found at an antique store down the street (have i mentioned the plethora of antique and thrift stores around here? amazing!) that sits by the fireplace, i love looking out the window and seeing the horses across the street. i did  buy a few new pieces when i got here since i lost all those built-in’s in LA.

the kitchen, has taken some getting use to for me, coming from the one i had in LA which i am pretty sure that one will be hard to beat out for a long time. i don’t have as much storage and i have not been as inspired to cook yet, but i think that will just take some time. i do however, have a lovely window that brings so much light in. i have a few herb plants basking in the sun there ( i need more!!! i do miss my year round garden terribly). i also now have a kitchen table. something i didn’t have at my last place in LA. it doubles as a work space for cooking and general dumping grounds when i walk into the front door.

the bedroom has also become my office. my long desk sits in front of windows that overlook the river. in a way it is kind of nice, not just because of the windows, but because the computer is like having a tv in the bedroom. except, i can’t stream anything because my satellite internet sucks big time, not because it won’t stream, but because it uses too many gb. let me say it again, satellite internet sucks big time! moving on, luckily, all my clothes fit in the closet. however, a pile still generally accumulates on the floor. the bathroom is tiny, but has a claw foot tub. my first home to have one!  the house also comes equipped with a laundry/mud room that leads into the side yard that is fenced in. i have the tiniest little washer and dryer and a place to store all those odds and ends. i haven’t set up the back porch or side yard yet. it’s not that it hasn’t been warm enough, but i think once spring comes around and i can start planting things again, it will be fun to spruce up these areas! so, that will be a post to come a few months from now. i miss having a california yard, not gonna lie. i miss my garden, but i am excited for the prospects of one down the road. i am excited about the seasons,and the changes they bring.

on a  lola update, since many of my friends know about my life through my blog, wink wink, she has a really horrible deep ulcer. it is not cancer, thank god, but we just need to get her to eat. the girl is slowly coming back to herself. it has been such a stressful time for me. lola and wylie are my babies, and its so hard to see her suffer. she seems to be doing well in general though and wylie has been a pretty good boy too, leaving her be and letting me give her attention, for the most part anyway.

IMG_2424

IMG_2461PicMonkey Collage3IMG_2489IMG_2458PicMonkey Collage2IMG_2493IMG_2498IMG_2621PicMonkey Collage6IMG_2643IMG_2628IMG_2637

PicMonkey Collage7

PicMonkey Collage8IMG_2671IMG_2686IMG_2689IMG_2585PicMonkey Collage4IMG_2594PicMonkey Collage5

Comments

9 Comments

Post a comment
  1. December 13, 2012

    Thanks for opening ur home to us. I was having a really downer day, but ur post cheered me up and gives me hope for my own space…a haven in a beautiful place. best wishes out there

    • December 14, 2012

      i love that! i am sorry you were having a bummer day, but glad i could help with a little cheer! all the best!

  2. December 13, 2012

    wow, love your place–especially the art piece over your bed and your sweet white teapot

  3. December 13, 2012

    wow I LOVE this space!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  4. December 13, 2012

    Your place is quite unique and stylish. Thanks for sharing. I might still your mason jar idea in the kitchen.

    • December 13, 2012

      thank you! and you should! makes it so much more fun to store things!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. curiosity spaces: my colorado cabin | Fülig Jimmy

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS