Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

IMG_3524

  i admit, that i have been deeply missing LA. i miss my old house, my old kitchen, my old backyard. i miss my friends. i miss the daily things i use to do there like hikes, errands, and the farmers market. i miss the restaurants. i miss the light. i miss the palm trees and the sunny weather.i miss my garden. i miss lola, her home was in LA, essentially.

this was inevitable though, right? i have only been back a week. i choose to isolate myself to a degree for some sort of reason, and those reasons are now staring me in the face.  if anything, in the end of this process, i will have come out learning a whole lot about myself…i suppose that was the whole point to begin with. i often have a hard time with change, but i have often found myself making it be. i have some sort of obsession with challenging myself…in certain areas that is, but then at times it just seems to easy to give up.

there are many things to get use to here. for example: having a septic tank, driving my trash to a dump, reminding myself i am not driving in LA and to slow down and not use my middle finger, satellite internet (the worst of it all),  lack of city life and social outlet, no year round farmers markets, having to shop at a regular grocery store (i am a snob). people don’t dress up a whole lot here. the uniform generally consists of patagonia’s and hiking gear. everyone drives a subaru outback and seems to have at least 3 outdoor hobbies. all in all, it is just different.

the saving grace, right now, besides my few friends, is the scenery. i do love taking the road out to my house and the mountains being so close i can touch them. the horses i see from my windows or when i go get my mail.  sitting on the back porch listening to the river melt it’s ice away. the other day i took a walk outside my front door and to my surprise, my breath was taken away. i couldn’t believe these views were just a walk down the road. wylie and i went to the end of my road and up the next, to which a reservoir sits. it was a beautiful sunny day and the air was just starting to warm up again.

this moment, was the reason i moved here. to explore a different surrounding, to challenge myself in hopes to learn more about what it is i want out of this world and who i want to be. i think my struggle begins with shedding who i was in LA to a degree.  or trying to find some sort of balance of how to keep her and build on becoming a better person and figure out whats really important in life. there is a lot of ego involved in all of this, as i am finding out.

a friend in chicago reminded me to enjoy this experience because not many people get to do something like this. at the end of the day, i put myself here…for some reason(S) that i am still searching for. it’s all part of the journey.

IMG_3526 PicMonkey Collage PicMonkey Collage1 IMG_3545 IMG_3549

Comments

10 Comments

Post a comment
  1. May 10, 2013

    Catching up and loving all of the photos of Colorado! I haven’t stopped by your blog in a while, but I’m so glad I did. What an exciting adventure. I’m an LA girl deep down, but I’ve moved on to the Bay Area and maybe someday I’ll wind up somewhere even more remote and beautiful like you 🙂

  2. January 22, 2013

    I feel ya. I miss riding my bike around Boulder, Colorado, and shopping at Whole Foods and farmer’s markets! I, too, am trying to make the best of my time in my temporary home. Love the photos!

    • January 26, 2013

      thank you! enjoy your temporary home. i will keep colorado cozy for you!

  3. January 22, 2013

    I really admire ur honesty and vulnerability. What you feel is normal when you have a change of local. I used to be in a military family. We once moved from SoCal all the way to the sea islands of South Carolina…quite a change in terms of landscape, people, and pace. But in time I met new friends, got to know the land, and took on new adventures. You are brave and must be spiritually strong to take on such a change. Trust me, it will bring about good.

    • January 26, 2013

      thank you for your words. such an encouragement!

  4. January 22, 2013

    I am sure you will feel “liberated” 🙂

  5. dgcastingtv@gmail.com #
    January 21, 2013

    Oh stop! LA is so passe! You may miss it but yesterday when we spoke on the phone, there was in a peace in your voice I haven’t heard in years. Love you! xoox

    • January 21, 2013

      hahaha! well, thats good i guess. you always see what i don’t in myself. i love you for that.

  6. January 21, 2013

    I can identify so much with this. I wish you all the best on your journey! I think you’re already off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS