Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

IMG_6385 PicMonkey Collageshst PicMonkey Collagehsfhsf PicMonkey Collagegfshsgfs

i have a lot of food posts pending right now. sometimes, i get a bug up my butt and make a bunch of stuff all at once. this past weekend was no exception. i finally got out of the house on friday night, and i realize how much i miss having a social life. saturday, i was suppose to have another outing, but had to turn around because my dog ate a bunch of plastic from the trash and i was worried about him. it was either my frustration at home or my anxiety away. i choose my frustration. i was so disappointed to have to spend another day at the house, since that is pretty much what i do all the time. it was a beautiful weekend. while LA was having 80 degrees, we here in colorado were happy with our 60 degrees!  i was almost half way (which is an hour) to my friends house, when i got off the phone with the vet and decided to go home. on the way back, i decided to stop at this cheese store in longmont (where my bro use to live). i pass right by on 287 and i have been in such desire for good food. and boy did, i treat myself. pastries, cheese, bread, meats. i went nuts. i decided, since i rarely go out to eat anymore, i was going to give myself the excuse to totally spoil myself! or as a psychologist might call it, emotional eating. ha! i was totally okay with it too.

of course, wylie got into the trash again. i am still watching him.

 sunday morning, i woke up and was craving a brunch out with friends so bad. i decided i would bring restaurant brunch here. i was inspired by rachel khoo’s eggs in pots. i used a triple cream brie i had bought instead of creme fraiche. you could use any of these or cream cheese or another kind of melting cheese. i put the cheese into a ramekin and layered it with two eggs, nutmeg, salt, pepper, and dill. i served it with the crusty baguette from the day before. this was simply divine!!!! i kind of want it right now!

i also wanted something sweet. i thought about pancakes, but i had no syrup. so, i opted for a dutch pancake, which might just be better anyway! i am perfectly happy eating this with a little powdered sugar and jam and as my friend donna suggested and the tradition, lemon juice. you can find any old dutch pancake recipe online. i didn’t make this up, so i will just give you a link here!

i hope you had a good weekend! next weekend, be sure to treat yourself to something divine!

Comments

6 Comments

Post a comment
  1. March 5, 2013

    Hello,
    I found your blog somehow last year right before you moved to CO. I’ve been following along ever since, loving your photographs and entries. I live in the LA area and have found a few posts that have had me planning trips, among them being a few days to myself at the Wabi Sabi house and your past few posts/Instagram pictures have me bookmarking places to visit the next time I visit friends who live in Firestone, CO. Thank you for creating such a lovely blog to read!

    • March 5, 2013

      thank you so much! i can’t tell me how happy it makes me to inspire! thank you for following and for a lovely comment! all the best! and let me know how the adventures go!

  2. March 5, 2013

    Hello,
    I somehow discovered your blog last year right before you moved to CO. Since then, I’ve loved reading about your creative endeavors and you following your heart in doing what moves you. I’ve also bookmarked a few places I’d like to visit and see from your recommendations! I live in the LA area so I can’t wait to book a few days for myself at the Wabi Sabi house, and with this post and your past few Instagram pictures, I’ve been bookmarking places on Yelp to visit the next time I visit friends in Firestone, CO. Your blog is a constant source of beauty and inspiration!

  3. March 4, 2013

    Beautiful photos! This looks so delicious!

  4. Julie #
    March 4, 2013

    Yummy!! Come make brunch for us!!

  5. March 4, 2013

    Looks yummy and comforting whatever it is? Now what’s for lunch? 😉

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS