Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

IMG_2074

 

this is another curiosity space that i took the photos for  a while ago. this time, i am sharing my brother, joe, and his wife, addie’s, house. they have two little one’s ryland and violet. they live in the olympia, washington. one of my favorite towns in the US!  i have always loved their dwellings, i suppose because of all the curious things. my brother and addie have been together since i was like 15 or 16! i remember the first time i met addie, waiting in my living room in alabama for my parents to bring them home from the airport. addie and i have a friendship, one that i cherish. she is a brilliant artist and crafter, as kind as can be, has a great sense of humor, and is smart as a whip! she doesn’t sweat the small stuff, and gives my brother way to many back scratches!  no wonder my brother loves her so much. i would say addie has always been an inspiration, and she taught me to look for gifts in nature. she never treats me like the little sister either, so i kind of love that too. addie has found some great pieces over the years, all from the great outdoors. i love the way their styles meld together. my brother with all his nature books and addie’s treasures to adorn them.

my brother, as i have talked about before, is an ecologist. he is also a photographer, from a preservation point of view. you can see his work here. joe, is ten years older than me. when i hit my twenties, he and i started to form a friendship. we finally had things to relate on and found out we have a lot in common. i look up to joe a lot. he is super smart and i look to him for info on politics, nature, and photography! as a kid, i use to go into his room when he was gone and go through this small little chest full of knick knacks. i suppose he was some sort of mystery to me. he use to collect fossils and after college and while getting a masters, became somewhat of a hippy! he lived in many places from the everglades, taos, salt lake city, seattle, colorado, and back to washington. my parents and i would go visit, he just added to my inspiration for wanderlust! while he and addie were living just the next town over here in colorado (wish they still did!!) they had their first child ryland. i use to come visit from LA and help them out. joe would have to go into the field for work (the field meaning the wilderness) and addie was commuting to denver. i formed a special little bond with ryland during all that time. and now they have violet, i need to go visit that little girl! i love her so!

i love all the bird nests, the feathers, the old family photographs. i love the photo of my mother that sits on their mantle. i love all the family heirlooms from addie’s side. her dad is quite crafty himself. i love asking where each piece came from. i love how addie thinks she needs help decorating, clearly she doesn’t!

IMG_2017 PicMonkey CollageIMG_2036 IMG_2024PicMonkey Collage1PicMonkey Collage5IMG_2035PicMonkey Collage6IMG_2015PicMonkey Collage4PicMonkey Collage7

Comments

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. Addie #
    March 9, 2013

    Hey Anne thanks for making our house look kinda cool! You have such a fabulous eye – your photos are one of the things I love about your blog. Talk about being an inspiration…I’m in awe that you put yourself out there and go after what you want. My crafty days seem far, far away and it’s fun living vicariously through you! Violet can’t wait to get arty crafty with cool Auntie Bix when she gets older! Loves

  2. E. #
    March 7, 2013

    I love the bookshelf! So simple yet awesome.

  3. Grandpaw Russell #
    March 6, 2013

    Nice photos and write-up on my favorite daughter and son-in-law! Addie’s grandmother would be very pleased with her decorating abilities.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS