Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

648_1056989393238_6033_n

well, my sisters might hate me for this picture, but i couldn’t help myself. look at all that sleeve. seems to be all about my siblings this week. i must be missing my fam!

i caught the end of marie antoinette on cable the other night. i got stuck on ‘all the cats are grey’ by the cure.  it got me thinking about all the old tunes that got me through my awkward/ uncomfortable teenage years. actually, i am not 100% sure i have grown out of the stage yet.  my sisters were a big part of that, my bro too…not the awkward part, the music part. everything they did, i wanted to do. everything they were, i wanted to be. in high school, jennifer was obsessed with depeche mode, and resorted to wearing all black, even if she was a cheerleader. julie, was obsessed with tears for fears and jumped on stage at a concert and gave curt a kiss. she got carried off the stage by the cops.i pretty much thought they were the coolest! being so close to chitown growing up, they were often hitting up the big city for concerts. they even got backstage passes to depeche mode once.

my sisters were good to me. they took me to a plethora of concerts from new order, depeche mode, to veruca salt- to name a few. they would take me on excursions to the local and indie record store, hegewisch, where i would get lost learning the art of record store shopping. around 3rd and 4th grade, the girls drove me to school in their white merkur, packed in the backseat with their friends, listening to many a alternative albums. this little girl with all these high school girls- it made me just a little bit cooler.  that musical world became my comfort zone in my awkward teenage years. it gave me my identity, it gave me the courage to stand out amongst a sea of normality. i prefer to be just a little bit “weird”.  i started dying my hair shades of purple and red and wore combat boots with babydoll dresses. i wrote DM on every notebook i owned. i was “alternative”!

when i first moved to LA, i went to amoeba, which is only the most amazing record store you will ever go to, almost once a week!  over the years, i have gotten rid of my cd’s and replaced them with itunes and now spotify. sadly, so many of those old albums got lost along the way. i kind of miss those days of going to the record store and coming home with 5 new albums. i couldnt wait to tear off the plastic and  figure out how to get that damn sticker off the top of the cd…and listen to what would be the soundtrack to the moments of my life.   there was some sort of special ritual about it… but then modern technology allows me to share this playlist with you. a playlist of my teenage angst. if you are into Cocteau twins, toad the wet sprocket, some DM, and the cure. this just might be a playlist for you too.

teenage angst

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. March 11, 2013

    Sun and Glory, how are you?

    Good news, I would like to personally hand you the “BEST MOMENT AWARD“. Congratulations and enjoy the rest of the day!

  2. March 9, 2013

    That is such a classic photo Tracy

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS