Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

 

IMG_8628

things are  mountain high beautiful here in CO. flowers are blooming, my vegetable garden is planted, and there is so much green around me it makes me feel crazy with excitement. the smell of fresh cut grass and summer rain, the brightening of spring, the daylight is hanging around a little bit longer. it has me all so incredibly nostalgic for my days in the midwest and the south, that it feels as though i am living it again. i feel that peace i use to feel growing up of the simplicity of life. the rat race of the last ten years had been hiding all these pleasures. i mean, i went to dairy queen the other night and i thought it was just about the greatest thing. i was envious of all the families enjoying the warm evening with cold ice cream, together.

i  received a text from a dear friend of mine from alabama yesterday, reminding me, we graduated 15 years ago from highschool. 15 years ago, holy shit! my initial thought was “where did the time go?” then, as i started thinking about it and looking at old pictures of old friends, it dawned on me that i have lived such a full life. full of so many friends, love, adventures. years of this. so many phases of my life with trails of friendships all over the country.  i have lived out many of my dreams, falling down on the way many times, but picking myself back up and trying something again. it brings up many questions for me on where to go next on this journey.

which, somehow all this nostalgia brings me to this simple recipe (don’t ask really), one everyone already knows, but i wanted to share with this trip down my memory lane.

there were only handful of things i could make in college. one being bruschetta. which i brought to every single party, either that or strawberry shortcake. i could also make quesadilla’s and tofu smoothies. i tried lasagna once trying to impress a dude, but i forgot to boil the noodles. my poor dinner guests. i was more of a creature of habit back then. i’m not sure i fully thought out everything before i did something, and that seems to have brought me more success in my life. not thinking, just doing. i also smoked a lot of pot. i also listened to sarah mclachlan on repeat, and i am currently doing so while i type this post….just for good time’s sake.

i laugh when i think how brave and silly i was back then. how i could give a damn what anyone thought of me.

how things have changed, how some haven’t.

IMG_8626

 

bruschetta

a loaf of bread cut into pieces. brush with olive oil and grill.

tomatos

basil

olive oil

salt/pepper

i don’t measure these goodies. i just throw it all together in a bowl and eyeball how much i need according to how many people will be eating.

IMG_8630 IMG_8634 IMG_8648

Comments

11 Comments

Post a comment
  1. June 3, 2013

    I want to eat now..

  2. May 30, 2013

    Food always stirs up some nostalgia or the other… I never cooked anything is college excepting instant noodles, leave alone Bruschetta!

  3. May 29, 2013

    Simple but yummy looking! I may try it with some mozzarella 🙂

  4. May 29, 2013

    Tofu smoothies?! Tell me more…

    • May 30, 2013

      i used the silken tofu you can find at any grocery store. it makes the smoothie super smooth. you can use in place of yogurt or dairy!

      • June 10, 2013

        Oh, wow! I must try this 🙂 Thank you

  5. May 29, 2013

    I love how certain things just bring up pleasant memories :). The bruschetta looks amazing!!

  6. May 29, 2013

    Oh wow, that looks so fresh and tasty. You must have been the best person to get the munchies with!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS