Info

to do. to see. to hear. to love

IMG_9080

i admit i have had a lack of affinity for the blog lately. sometimes i want to give it up, and then sometimes i become filled with inspiration and motivation.  perhaps the job i did last week in denver stripped a bit of inspiration from me, but has allowed me to regain some ideas of where i would like the blog to flow to. i am hoping to simplify my content finding more of a cohesive flow, though it seems i am constantly saying something like that.  i have always had a hard time with simplicity. by character and by the way i surround myself.  i am always longing for a more simple home, simple decoration (more storage could cure that), more simple ideas and motivations in life, simple relationships….as if this will solve life’s problems or perhaps just take the pressure off my lack of motivation to clean. less stuff, less mess?

even though everything is made in china, i can’t help but to love hobby lobby. a few weeks ago i was roaming the aisles looking for a way to make some stained glass, but instead i found these octagon mirrors. i love the clean and simple lines of geometry…how those lines come together perfectly and with ease. i always liked math in school, there was an answer at the end. i never understood that infinity part, it left me uneasy.

i turned the two mirrors with holes into a wall hanging using white deerskin, a few beads, and some feathers. you can find deerskin and feathers at your local craft store, though i used the supplies i use for the sun and glory line. i find these from native american trading posts and you can too online. for fun, i also made a design on a flat mirror (with no hole) using it as either a jewelry display on placing a plant on top!

IMG_9010 PicMonkey CollageEHE IMG_9018 IMG_9054 PicMonkey CollageRYNS IMG_9066 IMG_9022 PicMonkey CollageRTJS

Comments

12 Comments

Post a comment
  1. August 28, 2013

    I really enjoy reading your blog, you inspire a lot beautiful ideas! I am starting one myself and I’m sure I will go through times where I feel like I want to give up. And in those times I will turn to blogs like yours for inspiration and strength! Keep up the awesome work!

  2. August 25, 2013

    I totally know how you feel about blogging – I took a long hiatus this year but I’m back at it. The DIY mirrors are lovely, and your photography is GREAT!! Hang in there, you’re not alone.

  3. August 25, 2013

    I love the simplicity of what you’ve made. And I completely understand what you mean about sometimes wanting to give up but sometimes becoming inspired. wishing for simplicity in everything but it never seems to come.

  4. August 21, 2013

    your photos are beautiful, and your blog has an all-around feeling of nostalgia and warmth to it.

    one famous blogger that i follow says the key to blogging is to try and do it everyday, even when you don’t feel like you want to. believe it or not there are people that look forward to your posts, and the more you do it, the more you are reaching out to them. it doesn’t have to be a complicated diy post, or a fashion post, or even photos that have been edited to the hills. a few words will suffice …

    anyway i do love this diy post very much! here is my do-it-yourself video today on hello scarlett: http://helloscarlettblog.com/2013/08/21/reclaimed-shelf-diy-video/.

    hope to see you around. 🙂

    ~e~

  5. August 21, 2013

    Looks brilliant, don’t give up!

  6. August 20, 2013

    Just do you girl! And thanks for the diy mirror mirror-it is absolutely lovely, as is your blog that has recently caught my eye.

  7. hlittlemore #
    August 20, 2013

    This is such a beautiful idea, and just from the small snapshots of this room I can tell you have a wonderful sense of simplicity and style, so I would say don’t fret! Thankyou for this inspiration, I hope that knowing you inspire some of us encourages you to stick with this blog x

  8. August 20, 2013

    Looks brilliant. Clean,simple and eye catching. Great job

  9. August 20, 2013

    It’s really beautiful!

    -Charlie x

    http://amesstobemadex.wordpress.com

  10. August 20, 2013

    Please blog whenever you can =}. I do enjoy your creativity and fresh take on the mundane…especially the unique recipes and crafty projects.

    And NO more storage does not mean less mess LoL. It just means the mess is hidden away in bins & boxes in a cupboard. :blush: I have 50-plus years of experience in this department :blush: and 36 moves across country & back.

    p.s. I’m going to use your idea for a decorative mirror underneath a house plant. It will really highlight some African violets.

  11. August 20, 2013

    I wish I knew how to reach out to people like you
    I am so guilty. I read your blog and think oh she won’t want my two penneth worth.
    And wonder why I get no visitors. From today any notification that a blog I follow oiats I will read and comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. DIY: mirror mirror on the wall | budgetparenting

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS